Local Customs

Local Customs

After a movie at the Curzon , Bloomsbury I caught the Piccadilly line at Russell Square for  Hammersmith, where my push bike was parked.  I read the London Evening Standard which  that day could have been called Stabbing News.

Fifteen year old rapper Leoandro Osemeke had been butchered at a Peckham house party, Bashir Hassan had got his in Battersea while trying to break up a fight. Elsewhere vile daggers had been at work when three men had been caught on CTV chasing and  knifing another in Wembley. And then there was Andrew Oteng-Owutsu,19 who had been  carved to death on his door step in New Cross.

As I was thinking how far all this mayhem was from leafy Putney,the synchronised  diving and the gymnastics, a middle aged gentleman got on the train and sat opposite. Remarkable because  he was wearing the full Bangladeshi kit. The long shirt,the baggy trousers,the beard, the  hat.

I finished the paper and put it on the next seat. Mustapha Read lent over and pointed to the paper. I got the meaning, picked it up and handed it to him. He started to read.

I said, Usually we say thank you. One or two in the carriage looked up and smiled. Mustapha looked a bit shocked. I continued, Its an English thing, we show gratitude by saying thank you. That got him going, Thank you  much, thank you so much. He was losing marks for repetition. So I said, Calm down, but just remember.

A man in  a flat hat sitting opposite winked, Mustapha got on with the paper and  I wondered whether I would drink white or rose that night. It turned out to be rose.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Local Customs

  1. Dave Briant says:

    Just in case you imagine yourself to be fair-minded, can I remind you (inform you?) that you are actually a racist? I hope this comes as a dreadful shock to you and you instantly recognize yourself as the smug prick you are. What a long way you’ve come since those halcyon Keele days!

Leave a Reply

