Reader of the Year

Reader of the Year
Of course I am gratified by the support that many of my readers give my blog. My children,my brother and sister in Canada. Eric in France,Howard in California, Anton in Australia, Fangen in Dorset, Duncan in Kenya,Billy, Nick,the Charlottes, lawyers Stephen and David and their wives,Van Dijk, Westie and many others who make it all worthwhile. But when it comes to readership the stakes have been raised.
For yesterday a reader was so impressed that they wrote me a two page letter and according to my digital records read one blog at least 50 times. Step forward Welsh speaking senior solicitor Mari Roberts of the firm Sharpe Pritchard “Solicitors and Parliamentary Agents”.
Somehow the powers that be had got hold of my last week’s blog on the school panel experience,sadly now my last. The blog “Melting Pot “is no more(it is dead, gone elsewhere etc) but in it I described not only the proceedings but the Somalis who rather dominated the event. Now on many counts for my 100 readers I had broken professional and obvious rules.
In fact as the fragrant and charming Mari(I have seen her web picture) states “a number of inappropriate and offensive remarks”, the naming of one of the appellants and the revealing of “confidential information” as well as “reference to some of the private deliberations of the panel” were made. Without a trashing of the blog I would have faced “legal action” and any costs incurred.
Given the fate of Andy Coulson, the Al Jazeera Three, and many other of the tribe of scribblers who laid down their freedom for the truth I realised that I owe it to my readers to live to blog another day. But let no one now say these blogs are the rantings of an ageing and sad old man. Elsewhere these blogs are taken seriously enough to turn the head of a long haired Welsh speaking senior solicitor.
I come from a family of lawyers I know what it takes. My new best friend qualified in 1991 has only ever worked for one firm and among her previous successes was getting possession from an assured tenant who was growing cannabis in his flat. And now victory against itwonthurt can be woven into her battle honours. It will not be long before a government enquiry is pushed her way.
To her and all my other Welsh speaking readers I say Da Ffawd. Which of course means Good Luck.

9 responses to “Reader of the Year”

  1. Stephen Levinson

    O the joy of being able to answer back: Mari you do not know what you have stirred. Nice job Hugh. If this was a public meeting how can something said there be confidential?

  2. If it comes down to it I am more than happy to stand up in court and act as a character witness…

  3. Lovely nailing of your colors to the mast. Stand by your guns, JDS smiles approvingly…

  4. Private session with Queensbury rules, I’m afraid. So guilty as charged. What larks.

  5. I’d just like to say these blogs are the rantings of an ageing and sad old man …

  6. In the name of Christ the Redeemer may Messi weave his magic at the Maracana

  7. Mr Thompson,

    My name is Sophia, I’m a reporter for the Wandsworth Guardian.

    I have been trying to contact you this morning regarding your recent blog posts. Would you be able to contact me either by phone or email today?

    ssleigh@london.newsquest.co.uk or 0208 722 6344

    Sophia Sleigh

  8. Greetings;

    After reading some of extracts from your blog in the local gurdian, at first I laughed but then realised as a Somali, this could be about me. Now, I wont go into all this ‘racist’ crap but rather you have a right to write how you felt, becaus of course, you did not think in gods earth that your blog, your personal thoughts space, would get a lot of attention because you and maybe 100 others knew ‘itwonthurt’ existed. I did’nt, but now I do of course.

    My point, I am also a blogger who grew up in South London but now based in Mogadishu in taking part of rebuilding this wonderful, vast, beuatiful, not to forget the longest coastline in AFRICA with the mild Indian Ocean blue, of a nation back to its feet. We have suffered a brutal civil war and Britian had made us feel welcome. But you, out of all people, a respected citizen, did’nt feel the need to understand and try to figure this ‘proverbial heardspeople from sub-sahara’ and their way of live, a civilisation that has over 7,000 years of history. Those very same people who are decesendants from the pharoahs. Yes Mr Thompson.

    I think research is very important in life. My blog is www,mogatribunal.blogspot,com – you can follow my adventure back home and the wonderful pictures of this wonderful nation. The stories, the revival, the resilience, but of course, you’d would read this with an open-mindness. This is very important to prosper in “knowledge” was a qoute from a tutor i had respect for back growing up in Camberwell.

    You can always email – mogatribune@gmail.com – and I would be happy to contribute in your research on this unique people called the “Somalis”, the “Macrobian”, who according to Herodotus of Persia were the “tallest and handsomest of all men” who “had been known for their longtivity”(Again with research, this will make all sense).

    But nevertheless, will keep up with your readings because I support fellow bloggers and enjoy reading.

    1. Deeq, yours is a very forgiving message to one who does not deserve it. Good on you for your tolerance and generosity of spirit. It’s more than I’d be capable of.
      For me what’s of nore importance than the maunderings of this tawdry racist – took down pretty hastily the blog post that Sophia Sleigh asked about, courage of convictions ? – is his position (up til now) on Wandsworth’s school admissions panel. Very worrying.

Leave a comment